Which candidates are pro-life?

Join our e-mail list!
August 25, 2005
2006 Congressional Election Cycle Has Begun 
50 Republican Incumbents Undeserving of Support by Pro-life Voters
The Republican National Coalition for Life PAC is currently receiving phone calls from Republican candidates for Congress in the 2006 Republican primaries.

Our usual practice is to mail our Candidate Questionnaire to Republican candidates in each district as soon as the filing deadlines are reached. When we receive the results of the questionnaire, they are recorded on our website at www.RNCLife.org so that voters can see for themselves it those seeking to represent them in Washington are truly pro-life. We hope that this service has been helpful to our friends and supporters in the past, and we plan to do the same during this election cycle.

However, a very telling vote occurred in the U.S. House on May 24th, through which 50 Republican House Members voted to pass H.R. 810, the bill that expands federal funding for research that involves the killing of human beings at the embryonic stage of development. You will likely be surprised to see some of the names on the list of those who cast an anti-life vote on H.R. 810, because they have generally been considered to be ďpro-life.Ē This is no longer the case.

Below are the names of the Republican House Members, most, if not all, of whom will be running for re-election. These people clearly showed, through their support for H.R. 810, their disregard for innocent human life. Because of this, RNC/Life PAC considers them unworthy of support by pro-life voters.

(AK) Don Young (AZ) Jim Kolbe (CA) Bill Thomas; Howard McKeon; David Dreier; Jerry Lewis; Ken Calvert; Mary Bono; Dana Rohrabacher; Darrell Issa; Randy Cunningham (CT) Robert Simmons; Chris Shays; Nancy Johnson (DE) Mike Castle (FL) Ginny Brown-Waite; Bill Young; Connie Mack; Mark Foley; Clay Shaw (IL) Mark Kirk; Judy Biggert (IA) Jim Leach (MD) Wayne Gilchrest (MI) Fred Upton; Joe Schwarz (MN) Jim Ramstad (MO) Jo Ann Emerson (NV) James Gibbons; Jon Porter (NH) Jeb Bradley; Charles Bass (NJ) Rodney Frelinghuysen (NM) Heather Wilson (NY) Vito Fossella; Sue Kelly; John Sweeney; Sherwood Boehlert (NC) Howard Coble (OH) Steven La Tourette; Deborah Pryce; Ralph Regula (OR) Greg Walden (PA) Jim Gerlach; Charles Dent; Todd Platts (TX) Joe Barton; Kay Granger (VA) Tom Davis (WV) Shelley Moore Capito.

Democrats who defied their partyís leadership and displayed their pro-life convictions by voting against federal funding of research on human embryos are: (GA) Jim Marshall (IL) Dan Lipinski; Jerry Costello (MI) Bart Stupak; Dale Kildee (MN) Collin Peterson; James Oberstar (NC) Mike McIntyre (OH) Marcy Kaptur (PA) Tim Holden (TN) Lincoln Davis (WV) Alan Mollohan; Nick Rahall.

As you listen to and read the campaign rhetoric please remember H.R. 810. Itís not they say, itís what they DO that counts!

Republican National Coalition for Life    Box 618    Alton    Illinois 62002
618-462-5415    Fax: 618-462-8909    E-mail